Thursday, March 20, 2008

The Tournament Begins

Today is the day. It's one of the greatest days of the year for college sports fans. It's the day the college basketball NCAA tournament begins.

I got a slew of entries into our game yesterday. Daniel (my bro), Rollie Fingers, and Jroberts all input teams here. Scott and Uberschuck sent in their teams by email. That gives us 7. there is still time to put your team in, but you better get it in before 11:00am central time. If you want to be a late addition, compose your team and add it to a comment to this post, or you can email me at

Some observations:
  • Despite Poseur's conclusion that everyone would pick Stephen Curry of Davidson, two players declined to pick him.
  • Only OJ Mayo of USC is common to all teams, meaning that the #6 seed is basically removed from the game as everyone will score the same points in the 6 spot.
  • So far, 4 different players from #1 seeds have been picked, with two coming from UCLA and none coming from Kansas
  • Other very popular players include Brook Lopez of Stanford (5 teams), Luke Harangody of Notre Dame (5 teams), Michael Beasley (4 teams, which I think is incredible considering EVERYONE picked a player off of his first round opponent), and Jamont Gordon of Mississippi State (4 teams).
Just so everyone knows the emailed teams, Jason's team is:
1) Tyler Hansbrough, UNC
2) Chris Lofton, TN
3) Brook Lopez, Stanford
4) Sam Young, Pitt
5) Luke Harangody, Notre Lame
6) OJ Mayo, usc
7) Joe Alexander, WV
8) JaMont Gordon, MSU
9) Sonny Weems, Ark.
10) Stephen Curry, Davidson
11) Michael Beastly, KSU
12) Courtney Lee, WKy
13) Edwin Ubiles, Sienna
14) Reggie Larry, BSU
15) Garrison Carr, American
16) Jeremy Goode, MSM

Scott's team is:
1) Darren Collison G, UCLA
2) Chris Lofton G, UTenn
3) Trevon Hughes G, Wis
4) Shan Foster G, Vandy
5) K.C. Rivers G, Clemson
6) O.J. Mayo G, USC
7) Joe Alexander F, WVU
8) Jamont Gordon G, Moo St.
9) Sonny Weems, Our Kansas
10) Jerryd Bayless G, ARIZ
11) Michael Beasley F, KSU
12) Dionte Christmas G, Temple
13) Michael Jenkins G, Winthrop
14) Sundiata Gaines G, UGA
15) Drake Reed F, AP
16) Chris Vann G, Main Stream Media

No comments: